Work Update & Facebook

Quick work update this morning…I have come out to my first person!

As I mentioned in my last post, there was the possibility of me coming out to a coworker relatively soon, or rather, my coworker’s friend (who is my former professor) mentioning my transition to my coworker.  That conversation never actually happened between the two of them, so I decided to bite the bullet and tell my coworker myself.  Rather than bore you with the exact details of the conversation, I can pretty much sum it up in one word: Awesome.

When I told my coworker that I planned on transitioning sometime in the near future and that I have a surgery consult scheduled soon, she literally didn’t bat an eyelash.  I might as well have told her what I was having for dinner that evening or what my weekend plans were.  And not only did she completely under-react to this news (which was very normalizing :-), but she said how exciting this was!  (It is interesting to note that many of my very supportive friends have told me that.  I think it’s so cool and wonderful and amazing that them thinking that my transition, or the act of transitioning, is exciting.  But I digress.)  This conversation with my coworker happened at the very end of the work day so we weren’t able to chat too much, but the brief synopsis is that she told me to let her know if and what I ever needed from her and how she could help with anything.  Even though I knew this conversation was going to be relatively easy to have, I’m so relieved to have told somebody at work.  The feelings of being ready to burst have somewhat subsided, at least temporarily.

As for coming out to others at work, I do fully intend to stick to my plan of not saying anything until I have a surgery date, which won’t be for another month or so.  I think I can withstand the temptations to tell others during that time as I know that I have such a strong ally in my corner that I can talk to if need be before then.

 

I also made the decision to come out on Facebook, but in a somewhat roundabout manner for now.  After coming out to my coworker yesterday, I felt such a high that I just wanted to be fully out and not care who knew or who didn’t know.  Other than changing my gender or my name on Facebook (neither of which I’m ready to do–I don’t know what gender I want to have listed or what new name I want, if any), I didn’t really know what to do.  So with the help from an old friend, I decided to put this blog link up on Facebook for any and all to see.  While somebody would have to be actively perusing my profile to find the link, it still is out there for anybody who I’m friends with to find.  After posting it, I realized that I wasn’t really nervous at all about having anybody (who I’m Facebook friends with at least) know about the transition.  For me, that was further “proof” that this transition really is right for me.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Transitioning at work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Tracy,

    You might find my ‘Out at work’ posts interesting:
    http://wanderingaloud.wordpress.com/category/out-at-work/

    I’m at a new job now which I’ll post about soon.

    Coming out is *very* empowering – I’m glad it went well for you. Congrats!!

    Cheers,
    Donna

  2. I took a look at some and I have to say I feel good after reading them! By no means am I in an unfriendly environment (I like to think quite the opposite), but as I’m sure you know coming out can still be pretty nerve-wracking. Thanks for the link 🙂

  3. This post made me smile just wanted u to know

  1. Pingback: Last year? « Journey to Me

Leave a Reply

